Governor’s Award For Excellence In The Arts

Governor's Award

Margaret Lefranc received the 1996 Governor’s Award
for Excellence and Achievement in the Arts for Painting.

Margaret and New Mexico's Governor Gary Johnson

Margaret and New Mexico’s Governor Gary Johnson

Lefranc joined a galaxy of former New Mexico’s finest artists which included such names as Georgia O’Keeffe, Maria Benitez, Tony Hillerman, Allan Houser, Peter Hurd, William Lumpkins, and Andrew Dasburg.

The luncheon ceremony took place in the William Lumpkins Ballroom at La Fonda Hotel followed by an exhibition opening and public reception in the Governor’s Gallery at the state Capitol.

The Governor’s Arts Awards were establish in 1974 as a way of celebrating the significant roles artists have played in the state, both economically and culturally. Gov. Gary Johnson, first lady Dee Johnson and members of the New Mexico Arts Commission chose the recipients, who were nominated by local arts groups and citizens.

211 Responses to “Governor’s Award For Excellence In The Arts”

  1. gilbert says:


    ñýíêñ çà èíôó!!…

  2. Julian says:


    thanks for information!…

  3. Ricky says:


    ñýíêñ çà èíôó!…

  4. Ramon says:


    good info!!…

  5. wendell says:



  6. Joey says:



  7. Tommy says:


    ñïñ çà èíôó….

  8. Guy says:


    tnx for info!!…

  9. Manuel says:



Leave a Reply